tokitora's blog and writings

future plans, omakase's original concept, on the next single to be released, on maguro

"SABA" releases friday, 8/16!

PLANS FOR MUSIC

When it comes to music, I think I'm just going to release the singles I have in the vault, stagger them out, and not worry about tapes/EPs until I get more of a following. The concept of the EP was to make the titles unrelated to the song, so the listener had kind of a candid idea of what the song was going to be.

THE INITIAL OMAKASE CONCEPT

An omakase (お任せ)literally means "leave it to...", in this case leave it to the chef (me, in the case of this project). An omakase is a high class sushi dinner, so all of the songs are named after types of sushi!

It may have had multiple volumes, or "courses", but this was scrapped as well.

ON "SABA"

"SABA" samples Steely Dan ("only a fool would say that", to be specific) I used a combination of writing and freestyling directly into my software to record the hooks/verses.

"saba" means mackerel in Japanese.

ON "MAGURO"

"MAGURO" was very spur of the moment. I had just made a beat and started rapping on it, and as soon as I started recording what I wrote for the beat, it turned into a short song!

"MAGURO" means tuna. My favorite!

CONCLUSION

After all these years, I'm still trying to get my mixes down, and I'm still trying to find my style as a vocalist. I can't get either of them quite right or at a place I'm satisfied with... it's frustrating!! >:( I'm just going to have to keep working at it.

If you read this far, thank you! <3